. American Chuck Wagon Association

About the American Chuck Wagon Association

In 1996 at a chuck wagon competition in Amarillo, Texas, a small group of Old West enthusiasts and wagon masters talked about an association. The mission would be to preserve the heritage of the chuck wagon and its use in the short, but significant, era of the cattle drives. In 1997, in Bryson, Texas, by-laws and articles of operation were adopted and the American Chuck Wagon Association was off and running. Today there are members in 31 states, Canada, Germany and France. Members participate in cook off competitions, demonstrations, catering, charity events, school visits and many other activities to fulfill that original mission and even surpass the dreams of those organizers.
The Association has since qualified for and received a 501.c.3 status. This allows you to make tax-free Memorials, Honorariums and Donations. If you would like to make a donation, you may send a check to:
ACWA, P.O. Box 626, Belton, TX 76513.
For Memorials and Honorariums, please include the person remembered/honored, address or addresses where cards are to be sent.
Thank you for visiting our site and we hope you will visit us at one or more of our chuck wagon events.

Mission Statement - Revised 2018
The mission statement of the American Chuck Wagon Association is to preserve the heritage of the Chuck Wagon.
This will be accomplished by the following Core Values:

American Chuck Wagon Association is happy to provide assistance to anyone wishing to put on a chuck wagon competition. We have compiled suggestions for successful cook offs; there are sample forms for food judging; youth competition forms and tally sheets to help you get started. If you have questions or would simply like to visit with someone about your plans, feel free to contact us through email or contact one of the directors.

Officers & Directors

  • President: John Conway
    - Cambridge, Kansas - president@chuckwagon.org
  • Vice-President: Terry Green
    - Granbury, Texas - vicepresident@chuckwagon.org
  • Secretary: Darryl Jacobs
    - Texarkana, Arkansas - secretary@chuckwagon.org
  • Treasurer: Clint Combs
    - Las Vegas, Nevada - treasurer@chuckwagon.org
  • Director: Leon Fischer
    - Chattanooga, Oklahoma - leonf@pldi.net
  • Director: Justin Jackson
    - Howe, Oklahoma - justincole75@gmail.com
  • Director: Bobby Mims
    - Llano, Texas - chiefbobby10@gmail.com
  • Director: Marcus Reed
    - Frost, Texas - mreed@airmail.net
  • Director: Dave Wade
    - Rye, Colorado - davewade25@gmail.com


The SOUTHEAST, SOUTHWEST and NORTHWEST CHAPTERS are inactive at this time.
hit counter website
hit counter website